Connect with us

Published

on

Other Radisson Reviews:

The May Fair Hotel London

Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel Oslo 2018 Including Detailed Strategy

Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel Gothenburg Junior Suite

Stay Report: Radisson Blu Edwardian, Mercer Street

Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel

Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Oslo Business Suite

Radisson RED Brussels


Picture from the internet

Radisson Blu Alna is located at the east side of the city Oslo, which is known as an immigration heavy part of Oslo, although it has been changed a lot in terms of how people in Oslo choose to reside nowadays, the prenotion still exist.

The hotel is right next to a busy highway, it is said that this Radisson property is the fifth biggest hotel in Oslo. There is a bus stop behind the building as well as the subway station with around ten minute walking distance.

Seeing from the picture above, you’ll notice that the building used to feature two different Radisson brands which today it has been merged into just one – Radisson Blu Alna. However, the hotel hasn’t done anything in terms of renovation to the Park Inn part which means you can still see the old decor and signs in rooms on the right side of the building. I personally believe that they haven’t done anything to try to merge two brands together other than just take off the sign outside the building.


Check In:

The staff was quiet robotic when comes to customer handling and it take her around ten minutes to find my reservation in the system, I believe that is a problem on her end as I booked directly with the app.

I was initially given a room of the Park Inn side, which is a very basic room features all the basic express inn amenities, I was not going to complain, however as I was quiet sick during the time of my stay, I’ve informed them of my gold status with Radisson Rewards and thus hoping to be changed to a room with a mini-fridge as I have medicine that needs to be cooled.

The receptionist lady on the phone hesitated for quiet a while, but I insisted on the importance of having a mini bar, she gave in eventually and told me that somehow she indeed found a junior suite is available, thus I happily grabbed my bags and went to the west side of the building.

First of all, I was quiet grateful for the suite upgrade, as it rarely happens with Radisson properties, the room itself is big, however I do see somehow they managed to leave out a large amount of space with no furnishing. This room is definitely not a typical junior suite compared with pictures from their websites, also, I’ve noticed there is just too much dust on all the surface of the furnitures in the room, so I believe this might be one of those weird cornered rooms they hardly put out to use if occupancy is not too high.


The Room:

Anyhow, a suite is a suite, although it does not has a bathtub, the mini bar is completely empty and the bathrobes and slippers are missing in the closet.(which I had to ask for it.)

The bed itself is nice but not large, also with only half of the nightstand available, the left side looked as if they’ve been just cut off, instead, they used this layer of yarn curtains which I believe might be of quiet poor taste, and do they even clean that thing?

The bed itself is comfortable however the yellow backrest’s cover doesn’t felt like something of good quality here either.

The TV is just mounted onto the wall which I am not going to complain too much, but it does looked insubstantial to other furnishings in the room.

Not too mention the crazy amount of floor space is just left there, it might not look too big on the picture, but I felt like I could just put another bed in the corner.

A view with the yarn curtains on, this genuinely doesn’t put in the mood for anything, though I do agree some might find it mood-setting.

The pair of armchairs is placed in front of the closet and next to the desk, which means you have move them around (quiet heavy) when you need to use the closet or the desk to do work.

The mini bar is empty and I didn’t really mind since I didn’t had too high expectation for this property anyway, besides, this would be perfect for me to store drinks bought at grocery stores.

The desk is quiet decently set as you do feel this might be the only practical placement of furnitures in the room. The window on the right doesn’t necessarily bring mesmerising views, but you do get to see some green which can be quiet nice.


Amenities:

Maybe I’ve been too hard on them here, as when comes to the amenities in the room, they do offer quiet many things even though I haded to ask for slippers and bathrobes, the staff wasn’t quiet pleased when I asked for it, but he did delivered.

In the closet comes with the ironing board and laundry bags etc.

You have a normal sized safe as well as some glassware which is definitely not clean, but that’s okay, I will just clean it again myself.

Some dust or sign of usage on the cupholder. (Are they just trying to recycle here?)

I have to say the Espresso machine is quiet a nice touch here.


The Bathroom:

As I’ve noticed, there is no bathtub in the junior suite, but everything else looked fine, although the tissue dispenser made of plastic looked extremely cheap.

The standard Radisson Blu amenities, although I am starting to get tired of it.

Decent stock of towels.


The Breakfast:

I was quiet interested in the breakfast buffet offerings so I woke up quiet early in the morning, but only finding out that although they have many varieties, everything is of extremely low quality there, the watermelon pieces was already smashed which tasted like it has been sitting there for many days, the beverages were poorly done as well, I even regret getting up to get something like that.


Bottom Line:

With all this critics, I would like to say that the price of the nightly rate is quiet cheap in a city like Oslo, so if you know what you are getting, and would like to save some money in a pricy city like Oslo, and wouldn’t mind take the bus or subway for around one hour from the city centre, can bear with some passive aggressive staff treatment, go ahead and stay here, other than that, I am never coming back to this Radisson property.

P.S Normally I would call and ask about the in room welcome gift, but this time, since the staff was already getting moody towards my requests from what should’ve already be in the room, I decided not to insist on it, what you guys think about this? I am actually in every right to ask them about it, but due to their poor treatment towards “demanding” guests, I was scared off in this case.

Ratings:

Check In Experience: 5.4/10

Staff Experience: 5.2/10

Breakfast Experience: 4.7/10

Radisson Rewards Experience: 5.6/10

Room Comfort: 6.5/10

Overall Experience: 5.48/10

Leave a comment on this stay report?

 

Albert K. Field Albert is my name, and travel the world is my game. I began my passion for travel at a very young age, I started this website as a strong means to further explore the world of frequent flyers programs (FFP). The relationship between customers and service providers in the aviation and hospitality industry always seems to be in opposition, however, since the introduction of United Airlines’ Frequent Flyers Programm since 1972*. This has significantly eased the middle spectrum between 2 parties. While the aim of airlines is still to generate more revenue; but for us,as consumers, are also given the opportunity to participate in the bargaining and exploiting from service providers. Living in a world of globalization where big data becomes vital for simulating successful economical activities, most of us will have to travel to other locations whether willingly or unwillingly, while you hearing all this fascinating stories about others, In fact, you too, can blend into the trend. It may not sound like how media illustrates, but indeed there are possibilities for us to have more spontaneous travel without getting held back by financial situation. My website consists of reviews of airline premium cabin products,airport lounges and stay reports of 5-star hotels and their executive lounges across the globe. In addition to all of that, I care the most about their frequent flyers program and loyalty program, which also includes banking partners. Plus, I spontaneously put up reviews and news update regarding premium water brands and restaurants. The purpose of this website is to share all of this information with my audience as well as inviting you to be part of my journey.

Click to comment

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Hotel Reviews

Stay Report: Hotel Indigo Warsaw Nowy Świat, King Suite Review

Published

on

Hotel Indigo Warsaw - Nowy Swiat - Courtesy Of IHG

The Hotel Indigo Warsaw Nowy Świat is a four-star boutique hotel located next to the old town of Warsaw, Poland. What formerly known as the Branicki Residential House – Smolna 40, the building can be dated back to 1903. Through turmoils during the war, the residence building was developed by BUDIZOL Property to open as an Indigo hotel in May 2017.


How I Got There

The hotel is centrally located, so you may get there by many means of public transportation, but Uber is also extremly cheap in Poland, so the ride-sharing app has been my go-to method of communting around the city.

I arrived at the hotel site around 2 PM, and I was immediately impressed by the architecture itself. The hotel doesn’t look busy at all, in fact, it was a bit too quiet, I guess that’s why they called themselves a boutique hotel.


Check-In

The hotel lobby is mesmerizing, the art installation was majestic and beautiful. Since I booked the stay with IHG rewards points, so I wasn’t expecting anything over and beyond from the hotel; however, to my surprsie, I noticed in the app that room has been upgraded to a suite in advance.

The lady who checked me in was happy to see someone finally showed up when I entered the lobby, she welcomed me with a warm greeting and thanked me for my royalty with IHG rewards, she told me that they’ve upgraded me to their only king suite of the hotel, and she called the housekeeping to check again whether everything was ready before making the room key cards for me.

She mentioned nothing about breakfast and I ended up not waking up early enough to find out anyway.

The entire hotel is trying to be sustainable, so the hallway light will only switch on if you make a clear sound, which can be creepy at times.


Practical Info

  • Length: One night Stay
  • Booked Room Category: Standard 1 Queen NS
  • Upgraded Room Category: Suite 1 King NS
  • Booking Made: IHG App
  • IHG Rewards Tier: Spire Elite
  • Booking Through: Point Breaks Redemption (15,000 Points)
  • Room Number: 409

The Suite

Upon entering, the suite looked bright and open, I felt the openness within the enclosed space avaliable, as stated on their website, the suite is only 44 sqm.

The interior is elegant and chic, I liked the strong contrast between the furniture and the plain white wall.

The suite has dedicated space for your luggage and decent closet space for all your other belongings.

The most dazzling thing about the living room would be the window, not only was it up to the ceilings, but the painted window frames made it even more chic and elegant.

The elevated seating space made it even more exquisite, you can just imagine yourself sitting there with a glass of wine and looking out to the window as you are taking everything in with light music playing in the background. (I actually did that.)

With different seating sofas together, you can also have an enjoyable time with friends and families.

Overall the living room layout is decent and nothing is compromised here in order to make up for the seating space.

I’ve chosen the welcome points during check in, but the hotel went out of their way and left a welcome letter with a glas of red wine for me in the room, too. I certainly felt very welcome by this kind gesture.

With the suite upgrade, I was also able to enjoy free soft drinks & snacks as part of their free in-suite offerings.

The counter under the TV is fully equipped with all the glassware and tea sets.

The mini bar has a decent selection of liquor options in addition to the free soft drinks.

One thing I found out during the stay was the scale formed inside the water kettle, that’s very unpleasant to encounter as it feels like the housekeeping lacks some attention to details here.

Behind the sofa sets, you can find a simple desk where you can work on. The desk & chair itself is decent but nothing revolutionary, but the smart appliances will surprise you.

The lamp had a charging head for iPhone and the smart telephone comes with google maps and internet browser, plus many other apps. In my opinion, these small gadgets are huge enhancements to a hotel’s hard product offerings nowadays.

The sky-light ceiling adds another key selling point to the room, it makes you feel the visual extention to the environment outdoor so for a moment I felt like standing under the glass roof of a French museum.


The Bedroom

The bedroom is relatively simple, the design is modern as always, but it’s not the same size as a normal guestroom, in fact it’s smaller.

The bed and pillows are clean and comfortable, the bed the hotel referred to as a king bed is of decent size, but not the biggest I’ve seen, the headboard is elastic and it’s great to lean on.

The hotel offers in-room handy phone which you can take out with you for internet coverage and make phone calls to a dozen different countries free of charge.


The Bathroom

The bathroom went for a black & white decor which brings out the contrast between the chequerboard tiles and other interiors.

The oval bathtub is elegantly designed and looked very chic.

The shower amenities being offered was from the German sport luxury brand Bogner. It was okay to use but personally I didn’t feel anything extraordinary while using it.

Another smart solution they had with the suite was, with a push of a bottom, you may switch clear or opaque the smart glass they’ve installed between the bathroom and the bedroom.


Fitness & Sauna

Although the hotel only has 60 rooms, it has a 24 hours fitness center equipped with a small sauna facility.

It’s not the most well-equipped gym but you can get a work out done without much problem.

The staff reminded me that it take some time to heat up the sauna, so if you are thinking of using it, you would have to call them in advance so they can heat it up for you.


Bottom Line

This IHG property gives great recognition to its elite members, that something may look favorably upon. It has a great location in central Warsaw, while the hotel itself is very quiet and peaceful, so it’s highly recommended that you spend some days with them. The staff doesn’t have to deal with a large flow of guests checking in and out everyday, so they definitely have a lot more time to ensure the quality of your stay experience; besides the hotel was opened 2017, so right now might be the perfect time to try it out.


Ratings

Check-in Experience: 8.5/10

Staff Experience: 9/10

Status Recognition: 9.5/10

Room Comfortability: 8.5/10

Housekeeping Experience: 8.3/10

Overall Experience: 8.8/10

Thanks for reading this stay report, and are you planning to stay here soon? Leave a comment.

Continue Reading

Hotel Reviews

Stay Report: Moxy Frankfurt East, Germany Review

Published

on

Moxy Frankfurt East Stairways Wall

Moxy hotels are Marriott’s new budget chain that has properties with very basic room categories, so with Marriott Rewards, you won’t be getting suite upgrades or lounge access as they practically don’t come with any, instead, it’s a nightclub-like hostel that are filled with flirty little details to discourage you from thinking about the price you are paying for those tiny rooms.

Moxy Frankfurt East Building Facade

Building Facade

Moxy Frankfurt East is not conveniently located near Frankfurt Central railway station, but it’s definitely not far from it; you may reach the hotel with the city tram which will drop you one block away from it.

Moxy Frankfurt East Lobby Floor

Lobby Floor


Practical Info:

  • Length: One night stay (late check-in)

  • Booked Room Category:  One Standard Room

  • Upgrades: No Upgrades

  • Booking Made: Marriott App

  • Marriott Rewards Tier: Platinum Premier Elite

  • Welcome Amenities Choice: 500 Marriott Reward Points

Check-In:

Moxy is offering a bar alike check-in experience, as the counter area staff are also bartenders who sell and make drinks. I arrived at the hotel around 12 PM in the middle of the night. I supposed the lady who checked me in was already tired of her shift, also I didn’t have too much expectation from Moxy to start with, she used a lazy tone and informed me that she will just credited me the 500 points and carded me a room on the first floor. I then asked for a higher floor, only to be told the hotel is fully booked. K…

Moxy Frankfurt East Lobby Area

Lobby Area

Moxy Frankfurt East Looby Seating Area

Lobby Seating Area

Apart from the nightclub business at night, the lobby decor feels like some trendy café during the day.


The Room:

Moxy Frankfurt East Room Hallway

Hallway

This Moxy property only has three room categories, and I was given one at the most basic level at the most basic floor.

Moxy Frankfurt East Room 139

Room 139

Moxy Frankfurt East Floor Layout

Floor Layout

The room is tiny, as you would expect from a hostel, but it has tried its best to offer everything a standard hotel room could give. It has a IKEA style minimalistic furnishing and everything is of miniature size. Except the TV, the TV is huge compared to everything else in the room.

As the Moxy brand is a quiet new, they are able to offer a lot of innovative smart solutions. Even for hotels like JW Marriott Hong Kong, their top notch service doesn’t include a high resolution TV.

Moxy Frankfurt East In Room Overview

In Room Overview

Moxy Frankfurt East In Room Wall Grafitti

In Room Wall Graffiti

Moxy Frankfurt East Room TV Wall

Room TV Wall

In addition to TV and radios; the TV also offers internet browsing, personal device connection and weirdly enough – ASMR bedtime stories. Young people today would love these and it’s still very new. So, good job, Marriott.

Moxy Frankfurt East Working Area In Room

Working Area In Room

I do think the nightclub alike touches could attract a younger crowd than normal; and just maybe Marriott could win them over when their younger targets become business travellers one day. Not bad.

Moxy Frankfurt East Bed

Moxy Frankfurt East Bed

The bed and linens are well, not so comfortable, it’s close to hostel qualities and it’s far from the good ones.

Moxy Frankfurt East Room Nightstand

In Room Nightstand


The Bathroom:

Moxy Frankfurt East Bathroom

Bathroom

The bathroom is not big either, but you wouldn’t be having a problem to have a good shower.

Moxy Frankfurt East Bathroom Sink

Bathroom Sink

Moxy Frankfurt East Bathroom Towels & Blow Dryer

Bathroom Towels & Blow Dryer

The towels are thin and shower amenities like soap and shampoo are in dispensers only. Nothing much to complain here, as for a brand like Moxy, it will never get better.


Breakfast:

After the introduction of the new Marriott program since August, Courtyard, AC Hotels, Protea and Moxy will stop offering free breakfast for elite members. Instead you get a 10 USD credit. Breakfast cost 10 Euros at Moxy Frankfurt East, and I am not sure it’s worth what you are paying for.

Moxy Frankfurt East Breakfast - My Choice

Breakfast – My Choice

Here’s what I’ve chosen to eat. Not something I would expected to be eating at a hotel normally.

Moxy Frankfurt East Breakfast Pastries Display

Breakfast Pastries Display

Moxy Frankfurt East Breakfast Warm Servings & Bread

Breakfast Warm Servings & Bread

The only two hot plate offerings are just eggs, boiled and fried.

Moxy Frankfurt East Breakfast Cold Plates Display

Breakfast Cold Plates Display

Moxy Frankfurt East Breakfast Cereals Display

Breakfast Cereals Display

They offer a decent selection of cereals though, I am uncertain whether it’s a Moxy thing or a German thing, or a pop-culture reference; maybe a little bit of everything then. But the word for the hotel is – cost-saving.

Moxy Frankfurt East IKEA Alike Breakfast Tray Return Station

IKEA Alike Breakfast Tray Return Station

Another IKEA alike feature is that you might be expected to return your tray after you are done with your breakfast. It’s quiet common for young people today to do this self-willingly.

Another notable feature is their coffee machine that freaking offers more than 20 different choices. Impressed.


The Gym:

The gym area is located at the lobby as well. It’s a square-shaped room with all the necessary facilities. Nothing to complain about.


Other Amenities:

The lobby area is a cool place to explore as they combine everything at a business-oriented hotel all within the same place.


Conclusion:

I’ve paid more than 100 Euros for my one night stay which could get you some decent full service brands instead, I would only consider staying here if I am able to score a deal around 60 Euros in the future. Other than paying for breakfast, I wouldn’t mind recommending you staying here for a special experience and if you are into getting some instagramable pictures taken.

Moxy Frankfurt East Terrace

Moxy Frankfurt East Terrace

Continue Reading

Trending